#amwriting

My deadline for Poppy Swings is approaching and so is baby #2. We have decided to schedule an induction for week 39 (around April 11). Moving to Hawaii posed some complications for labor and delivery. Our toddler isn’t allowed to be in the hospital, which would mean my husband couldn’t be there. My mom is flying out to be with us (and bring our dog!) to stay with our son, so my husband and I can welcome our daughter with little worries about how our son is doing. He will be with Grammy and have his dog back, so he probably won’t notice we are gone!

Screen Shot 2017-03-01 at 9.22.11 AM.png

In the mean time, I have every intention of wrapping up my novel in (gulp) 40 days. Currently, I am writing the final chapters, which doesn’t frighten me as much as looking at the whole picture once its finished.

I have always been more of a one step forward, two steps back kind of writer. I read what I’ve written, then spend twice as much time editing and rewriting it, making progress SO SLOW. So once I got to Hawaii, I decided to just power through and not look back and then look at how it all works together. Then, I can change and rework what I’ve written. I thought it would be difficult, but it has been so liberating! Part of me is scared to see what I’ve done when it’s finished (because I’m afraid that I’ll hate it) and the other part of me is excited to actually have a complete document titled ‘Final Draft’ where my focus is to polish and smooth out the roughness.

I’m committed. I am making progress. I #amwriting.

Leave a Reply

