The Journey Begins

Does anyone else find a first post to be ridiculously intimidating? It’s like the first page of a novel. I spent the better part of five minutes staring at this blank space, nearly hearing crickets chirping in the background. Usually, I write the end of a book or the climax first and work my way backward. Since that’s not an option here, I’m just going to do it. Yes, I’m going to do my first post. Gulp. Stay with me.

I’m in a state of transition. Well, I could argue that the last decade has been a state of transition. But in this moment, specifically, I’m transitioning out of graduate school and a PhD program and into life as a stay at home mom. After having spent years with my writing coming secondary to other priorities, I’m proud to say that my writing still comes secondary.

Pre-Mom me thought I would have so much time to write and read about writing. Mom-me laughs at Pre-Mom me. With a wiggly, little three-month old who cries the second his diaper is wet and a very needy German Shepherd who has learned to throw his ball at me when I don’t throw it when he thinks I should, I live in constant distraction that might be more difficult to write in than working full time or writing a dissertation was! But I’m here and determined to finish a story that I feel must be written.

12791119_10100203569887726_2925511592485587249_n

Wiggly Ezra and probably cold coffee

In 2009, I started a novel I’ve titled “Poppy Swings” that has been on hold since I started graduate school in 2011. I returned to it summer 2013 and then paused it again to collect data and write my dissertation. Here it is summer 2016 and this time, I am seeing this project through to the finish. Looking back on what’s on paper, I’m excited about several chapters and embarrassed by the rest. I had half of a novel written down and half of that is crap and scrapped. So I have a quarter of a novel. One might say I can look at the glass being either 1/4 full or 3/4 empty.

I have decided to use this blog as a record for my own story as an aspiring author. I will be reviewing books that I read about writing, recording my writing sessions, questions, and frustrations, and the road to publishing.

Come along on the journey.

5 thoughts on “The Journey Begins

    • WriteHandedWoman says:

      How exciting! And thank you for coming along on this journey with me! What discipline are you scouring doctoral programs in?

      Like

      • marushkasplace says:

        Literature or creative writing, my Master’s was interdisciplinary. The older I get the more I realize there is always more to learn. The hardest part is narrowing down.

        Like

Leave a Reply

